RSS Feed

Tribute to grandma

Besides some of my looks, my character and even some of my possessions, I owe to my grandmother a great versatility in matters of handcraft.

My mother’s mother was a tailor. As children, my sister and I sat in grandma’s kitchen and watched her cut patterns out of old newspapers. We watched her draw white lines on fabric with chalk. We watched her sit at her old Singer sewing machine with bended back. We watched her knit, crochet, baste, unsew, straiten, pin, wind, iron, tear, wash, mend.

Her kitchen cupboards not only sheltered dishes and cutlery, but also many wonderful tools. Needles in all sizes. Thread in many colours. Crochet hooks and knitting needles, big ones of plastic and very thin ones of metal. Scissors, safety pins, needle threaders, beads, lace, buttons, hooks and eyes.

And of course, my sister and me not only watched. We made use of all those treasures belonging to grandmother. We tailored dresses for our dolls. We crocheted teddy bears. We payed our afternoon tea (or rather a cup of milk for us) with buttons made of horn, wood, metal, and plastic. It was all a game. And I think that is why it is fun until today.

If anything, I learned from grandmother how to make something new out of something old. Having lived through two wars, she had made this her mastery. I don’t know anyone else who makes use of small things and leftovers like she did.

Lately, I occupied myself with producing some small things. Pendants they obviously are. Yet, I am not sure what to make of them. I should try and find some people who would like to wear them round their neck. The biggest of them measure almost 2 inches, others not 1,5.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

© 2011 by hs

.

Leave a Reply

