RSS Feed

Tomorrow—or the day after

A tricky decision lay before me. I admit that I had not thought of the problem before. When I looked at the new quilt I was going to sew, sporting in sparkling colours on the cover of my quilting magazine, I did not waste one thought on it. When I rummaged around my stash and decided on the fabrics I was going to use and I would have to buy, I seriously never tought of it. I can assure you that I had many a close look at the quilt but this problem never came to my mind. Until I had to sew it.

The flag block.

The flag waves on a high blue pole in the top left corner of the picture. And of course, it is the flag of the United States—stars and stripes. But I do not identify myself with this country. No offense meant, to be sure, but it is neither my country nor my flag.

What to do? Needless to say, I took the first step of solving the problem which is, I think, universally acknowledged as the right way to treat any problem: I postponed the decision. Don’t get me wrong. I did not evade it, nor did I ignore it. I simply waited until I would come up with a miraculously good idea.

Time went by, the church block and the bounty blocks all have been sewn—but the great idea had not come. I had some ideas, but never a truely bright one. Still, I sewed a flag but I admit that I was not content. Then I sewed a second version. But still I was not quite happy. You may have a look.

© 2011 by Heike Scharmann

.

© 2011 by Heike Scharmann

I desperately tried to incorporate the colours of my country’s flag. But then, I don’t like them at all! I comforted myself with the fact that I only used fabrics that are used in the quilt anyway. They would not quite match the true colours of my country’s flag but thus not annoy.

The other day, I heard a song on the radio that really was in line with my feelings on the subject. It is called “Tomorrow” by Johannes Oerding. The lyrics are thereabout:

The day I am going to clean up / the day I am going to get up early / the day I am going to eat healthy / the day I am going to quit smoking / the day I am going to get my body in shape / the day I am going to do my taxes / You ask: When will this great day come? / The date has been long fixed / It is tomorrow / or the day after / or the day after / or the day after.

I very much had to laugh when I heard this tune and it really cheered me up. It somehow puts the importance of some (or many) of our decisions into perspective.

In the end, I am still undecided. But that’s okay. I know that one day I will have to decide. When all other blocks have been completed and I will have to sew them into one big quilt top at the latest. But until that day, maybe I will be consoled with the idea of using one of the flags I have sewn so far, or maybe that miraculously good idea will pop into my head and I will sew a third version.

© 2011 by hs

Leave a Reply

