RSS Feed

America the Beautiful

© 2011 by Heike Scharmann

It is done.

Somehow time went by and another quilt top is finished. Ha! I am pleased already with the result thought I have yet to quilt my new treasure. As always, I am going to handquilt with white thread.

© 2011 by Heike Scharmann

While I was still waiting for the last part of the quilt pattern, I visited mccallsquilting.com to take a sneak peak and find out what other quilts the new issue would comprise. In the Bonuses section, I came across something very funny: It seems that I was not the only person who had a problem with the flag. There they featured a bonus pattern for a Canadian flag. Not that this would have solved my problem—but somehow it relieved me to know that I was not the only not-American creature being so loony as to sew an all-American/patriotic-to-the-core quilt and then has a problem with the flag!

But my flag problem is a problem no more. You can see for yourself now. I hope you enjoy these pictures.

© 2011 by Heike Scharmann

This would be the windowpane variant (my father and André are getting loooong arms):

© 2011 by Heike Scharmann

Following the quilt pattern, the first border should have been red, the second border brown, and the outer border should consist of half square triangles in the same brown and cream. As you can see, I changed this a little bit: the first border is white (I used these whites for some houses’ and trees’ backgrounds), the second border is blue, and the half square triangles are in multi colour and cream. I must own that this is due to the fact that I had not left over the required amount of any of the fabrics already used. So I decided to piece a scrappy border (and in fact I used several fabrics up to the last snippet). Since the design in itself is alread highly vivid, I sorted the colours. This quite eliminates the scrappy look and brings some peace to the eye—almost as good as a border of cream and only one other colour would have.

© 2011 by Heike Scharmann

Finally, I will not forget to put down the due credits: America the Beautiful was inspired by the song of the same title (by Katharine Lee Bates and Samuel A. Ward). The quilt was designed by Lynn Lister. The pattern was from McCalls Quilting Magazine.

4 responses »

  1. Help! I have all the issues for this quilt but #5 (Sept./Oct 2011) Is there any way I can buy a copy of that pattern for that issue or purchase the magazine? I have looked on McCall’s site and no luck there finding the issue. Thanks…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

