RSS Feed

iPhone case

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

Today, I designed and sewed my first mobile case. It is rather simple and took almost no time.

First, I picked two fabrics out of my stash: an ornamental print in shades of turquoise and beige, and a less dominant for the lining in matching colours. I cut a narrow strip of each fabric, 3 3/4 to 11 inches. I added a thin batting and sewed the longs sides of the three layers, thus creating a tunnel. Before turning it, I cut the seam allowance back to 1/8 inch. Then I tucked in the seam allowance on both short ends and sewed with a matching thread as near to the edge as I could manage.

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

Lastly, I folded the sandwich in half and sewed the two long sides, again, as near to the edge as I could. Done!

© 2012 by hs

Of course, you can adorn your case with buttons, embroidery, or appliqué. Rather sadly I refrained from doing so because I always carry my iPhone in my trouser pocket where there would be no room for such embellishments. But else …

Measurements are for iPhone 4 or similar mobile.

Leave a Reply

