RSS Feed

Summer Song

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

This one, I finished some time ago already, but it was only today that we both found the time to do a photo shooting.

© 2012 by hs

Seaside Cotillion was the first quilt kit I ever bought, and there was so much fabric left over that I could not help but do another quilt in the same colour range. I had to roughly double the fabric amount to get this throw. Some were added from my stash, and I found the rest in my local quilt shop.

The pattern seems to be very simple, yet I find as much to look at as in any other quilt. Quite strange. The design is by Joel Dewberry.

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

Since I changed the size, I could not stick to the pattern too closely. The math, I remember, took me quite a while. Every pieced strip had to be the same length, and, as you might make out in the last picture, though the diagonal seams do but rarely meet, they had to meet at both ends, as they did in Joel’s version “Spring Song”.

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

Leave a Reply

