RSS Feed

Union Jack purse

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

My paper pieced Union Jack turned into a purse after all. I had some doubts whether it would be too small to use it as a basis for a purse, and I did not want to add any borders. But after some consideration, I had the idea of adding a border at the top side only.

I added a very small border strip at the bottom side, too, in order to not lose any part of the flag itself to the purse’s bottom.

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

I wanted the back to look plain but not too plain. I machine quilted very little and added five buttons burrowed from some old shirts.

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

I decided on sewing two loops to the purse’s sides in order to be able to vary the straps in future. Though chances are low that I am ever going to change them … now that I made this fabulous braided strap. It is  durable, yet not too stiff and comfortable to wear.

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

The purse holds my money, tissues, keys and one or two cough sweets. More than enough to go anywhere, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

