RSS Feed

Refined recycling

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

Old shirts can be a good fabric source for a quilter. I already have done a quilt using two old shirts. This time, I aspire to something more refined.

I long wanted to do a quilt in the paper piecing method—by hand. A carry-along project. But I never liked hexagon quilts too well. Until I came across Megan’s idea of pieced hexagons. I was struck with the idea of piecing them and humiliated because I never thought of it! I think it makes all the difference and opens up so much more possibilities as to how to arrange them.

I have not finished but three dozens 1″ hexagons and already am playing with patterns. This is definitely not what I want:

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

Maybe you can make out the four fabrics that were men’s shirts once? I would love to have more than these four, and maybe some friends will help me out. I am definitely going to add some more colour and decided on orange, pink, and black. I will give you an update on that as soon as I can.

One response »

  1. Hallo Heike,

    hat dich das Liesel-Fieber jetzt erwischt????
    Wie groß ist die Kantenlänge deiner Hexagons??

    Die sehen doch schon ganz toll aus, bin gespannt, wie viele Hemden du so noch verbrauchen willst.

    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

