RSS Feed

Farewell, America the Beautiful

Well, it is finally done. America the Beautiful is finished. Hand quilting and binding—all is done. This quilt is one of the biggest I ever made. It sounds stupid, but I never realised that before. It was only when I measured it to calculate how much fabric I would need for the binding that I came to understand that. My stash would not have a single piece of fabric in matching colour that would suffice.

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

I actually had to go and buy some new fabric just for the binding. Normally, I would never do such a thing. I would plan in advance what fabric I to use for a binding. But in this case, well, I might have lost track during this long period of piecing the blocks. And I did not wish a scrappy binding for this quilt.

I went for a soft green, as a matter of fact (you might not be able to discern the colour in this photo). With a cotton batting, the quilt is quite heavy, too.

It was early morning when I took the picture. And I like the effect the sunlight has on the photo: giving the impression of “my” sun (top right corner) rising over the trees and mountains, not yet bright enough to extinguish the light of the stars.

America the Beautiful was inspired by the song of the same title (by Katharine Lee Bates and Samuel A. Ward). Design by Lynn Lister. Pattern by McCalls Quilting Magazine.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Farmer’s wife: Broken Dishes | Password: Quilt

Leave a Reply

