RSS Feed

Farmer’s wife: Squash Blossom

Squash Blossom

© 2012 by Heike Scharmann

Would you have guessed the name of this block if it hadn’t stood in the title? I would not. Nevertheless, I think it one of the loveliest blocks so far. At least it doesn’t consist of squares and half square triangles as so many blocks did before. I am already getting a little tired of blocks consisting of these two forms, and I predict that I will be sick of them when finishing the 111th block.

I feel I am sounding a little destructive here. So let me find a better name for this block. How about “Aztec Vibes”? This pattern strongly reminds me of some Mexican or Aztec pattern. I am sure, there exists an Aztec symbol like this, and I bet it had a certain meaning, something like squash blossom …

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Farmer’s wife: Single Wedding Star « Password: Quilt

  2. Pingback: Farmer’s wife: Corn & Beans « Password: Quilt

Leave a Reply

