RSS Feed

Farmer’s wife: Darting Birds

Fabric choice is always exciting with every new farmer’s wife block. I cannot really tell why I chose green prints only for this block. I’ve only done one other block in all green colours, Prairie Queen (Peaceful Hours has some white in it and therefore doesn’t count). Green is the accentuating colour in my quilt, so I am always wondering if I am using it too often or too seldom.

Darting Birds

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

When doing a little research on the Darting Birds pattern I found that there are several versions of this block with slight differences. I saw patterns using three different prints instead of two, and I even found a version where the heads of the four birds all pointed to the centre so that you couldn’t make out a bird in the end.

I considered to use a different print for each bird for a short moment but definitely decided against it. I think the character of a little flock is stressed more if the birds all look the same—as they do in reality.

.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Farmer’s wife: Birds in the Air | Password: Quilt

Leave a Reply

