RSS Feed

One in between

When I started this big project called Farmer’s Wife, I didn’t plan to post about it only, and not have any other quilt themes besides. But as it turned out, not until 93 posts later, I am finally able to write about another project, my first finished quilt for this year.

It’s another sampler—indeed! And I call it Dreaming in 3D

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

I stumbled upon Teresa’s tutorial for this textured quilt sampler at her blog mypatchwork.wordpress.com. At first, I thought I would sew along two or three of these very fun squares. But I soon got hooked and wanted to do every single one of the 25 patterns. I never smocked fabric before, or sewed tucks in so many variations, and I learned so much during the process. I extremely enjoyed making these squares.

20 of them made it in my quilt. Against my usual practice, I machine quilted it, using a polychromatic sewing cotton my sister once gave me.

You might enjoy looking at each square in detail.

Centred tucks with bow ties

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Cluster tucks

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Cross pin tucks

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Cross shirring

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Diamond pin tucks

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Diamond smocking

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Double controlled pleats

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Double controlled pleats with ripple effect

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Gathered double edged ruffles

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Gathared stip

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Lattice smocking

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Lotus flower smocking

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Lozenge smocking

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Pin tucks

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Prairie points pinwheel

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Puff gathering (my favourite)

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Smocked tucks

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Star gathering

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

Undulating tucks

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

.

4 responses »

  1. This is a very useful post! I never really thought about how many different ways you could scrunch up fabric, so this is great inspiration!

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous, fun, stunning, challenging! Fantastic, I might try this myself, thank you so much for posting and sewing something different! xoxo

    Reply
  3. This is beautiful ! Do you have tutorials for these different kinds of tucks and smokings

    Reply

Leave a Reply

