RSS Feed

Farmer’s wife: Big Dipper

The Big Dipper is the constellation that is called “great bear” or “big trolley” in German, or “the Plough” in English.

Big Dipper

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

© 2013 by Heike Scharmann

I cannot see why this block is named after this constellation. But I made the amazing discovery that it looks definitely different when set on point—much better, in fact! I saw examples of this block using three or even four different prints, thus carving out the center pinwheel much better than in this two-print version. But I still decided on two prints because I like the idea of seeing as much as possible in this block.

By the way, I did not paper piece this one. Instead, I measured the final length at the side of the quarter square triangle, added 1.25 inch to this and cut squares of this size. Out of two squares of a different print you get two quarter square triangle squares.

.

One response »

  1. I really love the mix of the two patters. The colors go nicely as well. I’d love to do a design like this at some point. Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

