RSS Feed

Farmer’s wife: Quilting

The quilting on my Farmer’s Wife quilt is done. It was done in no time—or so it seemed to me. As I imagined beforehand, I enjoyed re-visiting each square so much.

© 2014 by hs

© 2014 by hs

So another big projects draws to a close. I quilted the outer border in just two days. Now I am only waiting for my fingers to rejuvenate so that I might finish the quilt with a binding. Or rather, with no binding at all.

© 2014 by hs

© 2014 by hs

I had planned to bind the quilt by folding the backing fabric to the front, but it turned out that there is a small distance at one edge of the quilt where the backing fabric is too short. Now I am thinking about finishing the quilt with no binding. The alternative would be to buy binding fabric. Hard decision …

© 2014 by hs

© 2014 by hs

I also thought about labeling each of the 110 squares by embroidering their names on the sashing strips. I would have liked this a lot. But I didn’t come to a satisfactory solution as to how to do it, floss, and colour, without losing the present look and feel. Besides, I think I should have done any embroidery before making the quilt sandwich, so I put the idea aside. So it seems the finishing date is only a few days away.

6 responses »

  1. Wow. I can not wait to see the whole finished quilt. And I can not believe you hand quilted it…what an achievement.

    Reply
  2. Marlies Verlinde

    You could also consider doing a faced binding that does not. show at the front, leasing you beautiful workshop to speak for itself.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Farmer’s Wife is done | Password: Quilt

  4. Love your color scheme, small dots on sashing with larger dots on border, and especially the matching striped border with gingham backing. I’m filing these ideas as inspiration for a future quilt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

